01202 554891 / 0800 0857857 office@swaahb.co.uk

Your Branch

UNISON South Western Ambulance and Allied Health Branch has over 3,000 members. The Branch is made up of all of its members. Some members are elected by the membership to play different roles such stewards and branch officers. Here are some of the key members of our branch team:

Yvonne Burke – Branch Chairman & Treasurer
chair@swaahb.co.uk
Yvonne facilitates Branch and committee meetings and acts as a senior negotiator with employers. Her role is to ensure that the Branch runs according to the rules of UNISON in the best interests of our members. Yvonne is based at Wimborne Station.

Chris Nelson – Branch Secretary
branchsecretary@swaahb.co.uk
07802 898817
Chris is the main point of contact person with the employers and the wider union. He ensures that all matters of Branch administration run smoothly. Chris is based from Trust HQ at Exeter and travels Trust-wide. Chris spearheads many of the branch’s projects, including the new website.

Jo Fowles – Assistant Branch Secretary
jo.fowles@swast.nhs.uk
07557 563537
Jo is a paramedic based at Soundwell Station in Bristol. Jo assists the Branch Secretary in coordinating the Branch Team, negotiating with employers and representing members in the most serious or complicated cases.

Dave Phillips – Assistant Branch Secretary
David.Phillips@swast.nhs.uk
07929 988821
Dave is a Paramedic based at Frome, Somerset. Dave assists the Branch Secretary in coordinating the
Dave assists the Branch Secretary in coordinating the Branch Team, negotiating with employers and representing members in the most serious or complicated cases.

Charlotte Worthington – Branch Administrator
c.worthington@swast.nhs.uk
Charlotte is the glue that holds the Branch team together. She runs the Branch Office, coordinates diaries handles administration and acts as first point of contact for any enquiries coming in to the Branch Office.

Adrian House – Branch Health & Safety Officer & Vice Chairman
adrian.house@swast.nhs.uk
Adrian leads a team of eight Health and Safety Representatives and joint chairs the SWAST H&S committee which reports to the board. For UNISON he is the vice chair of the South West Regional H&S committee. As well as making approximately fifty workplace inspections across SWAST, he attends many formal meetings within the trust from local LCC to the H&S executive . Adrian was awarded the UNISON Regional and National Health and Safety Representative of the Year Awards 2018 which he dedicated to the UNISON SWAAHB Health and Safety Team.

Gordon Bailey – Joint Branch Retired Members Secretary
Steve Gazzard – Joint Branch Retired Members Secretary
Tom Louis – Joint Branch Retired Members Secretary

Allan Baker – Branch Environment Officer

Andy Tomlinson
Andrew.Tomlinson@swast.nhs.uk

Anthony Barrett
Anthony.Barrett@swast.nhs.uk

Chay Farzaneh
Chay.Farzaneh@swast.nhs.uk
Chay is a Steward at Taunton, Somerset.

Chris Hewett – Branch Communications Officer
chris.hewett@swast.nhs.uk
07917 246394
Chris takes information from the Branch Team and turns them into circulars and notices for members. He is one of the branch team who run the social media accounts for the branch, including Facebook and Twitter. Chris is specially trained to produce press releases, make media appearances and support other members who are making statements to the press.

Clare Lunk
Clare.Lunk@swast.nhs.uk
Clare is Steward based at HQ in Exeter. She has a keen interest in advocacy case work supporting members facing sickness and disciplinaries and also sits on the Staff Wellbeing Engagement Group to help implement mental health initiatives across the Trust.

David Austin
David.Austin@swast.nhs.uk

David Bruce
David.Bruce@swast.nhs.uk

Elli Brown
Elli.Brown@swast.nhs.uk>
Ellie is a steward covering Cornwall.

Gill Blake

Hywel Lloyd
Hywel.Lloyd@swast.nhs.uk

Iain Odhams
Iain.Odhams@swast.nhs.uk

Ian Whittern
Ian.Whittern@swast.nhs.uk
Work Place Contact, Bristol.

Jacky Owen – Branch Women’s Officer & Branch Welfare Office

Joe Salmon
Joe.Salmon@swast.nhs.uk

Jonathan Legge
Jonathan.Legge@swast.nhs.uk

Katie Zaffiro
Katie.Zaffiro@swast.nhs.uk

Louise Gower
Louise.Gower2@swast.nhs.uk
Louise is a steward in East Cornwall.

Maggie Barnden
Maggie.Barnden@swast.nhs.uk
Maggie is a Steward in East Cornwall.

Marcus Becker
Marcus.Becker@swast.nhs.uk
Marcus is a Steward and Health and Safety Representative in Cornwall.

Martin Hewlett
Martin.Hewlett@swast.nhs.uk

Michelle Goodman
Michelle.Goodman2@swast.nhs.uk
Clinical Hub Lead Steward for East and West Divisions, Michelle is also our Branch Equalities Officer. Michelle also represents members at a national level as part of the UNISON National Executive Committee. She is also active with the Torbay And South Devon Trades Council.

Mike Howells
Mike, who works for a private ambulance PTS company and represents members, particularly those who have joined or been TUPEd to private providers.

Mollie Sadler
Mollie.Sadler@swast.nhs.uk

Natasha Gibson
Natasha.Gibson@swast.nhs.uk

Neil Chadwick
Neil.Chadwick@swast.nhs.uk

Nicholas Clarke
Nick.Clarke@swast.nhs.uk
Based at Ilminster, Nick is the Somerset Sector Secretary.

Paul Barker
Paul.Barker@swast.nhs.uk

Peter Hallett
Peter.Hallett@swast.nhs.uk
Based at Glastonbury Ambulance Station

Pete Hornsby – Branch Pensions Officer

Peter Powell
Peter.Powell@swast.nhs.uk
07873 187364
An RRV paramedic based in St Leonards, Peter is a keen member of the peer support team and a trained TRiM Practioner with a passion for staff welfare and support in difficult times.

Philip McKenna
Philip.McKenna@swast.nhs.uk
Steward in Cornwall

Rhian Phelps
Rhian.Phelps@swast.nhs.uk

Rhys Williams
Rhys.Williams@swast.nhs.uk

Scott Humphrey
Scott.Humphrey@swast.nhs.uk

Shane Clark
Shane.Clark@swast.nhs.uk

Simon Moss
Simon.Moss@swast.nhs.uk

Stephen O’Connor
Stephen.O’Connor@swast.nhs.uk

Steve Sugar
Steve.Sugar@swast.nhs.uk

Stuart Brown
Stuart.Brown@swast.nhs.uk

Stuart Cumming
Stuart.Cumming@swast.nhs.uk
Stuart is the Work Place Contact for staff at Illminster, Somerset.

Stuart Houghton
Stuart.Houghton@swast.nhs.uk

Tara Quinn – Branch Magazine Officer

Ted Blandford
Ted.Blandford@swast.nhs.uk
Cornwall Sector Secretary.

Tim Steel
Tim.Steel@swast.nhs.uk

Tom Humphreys
Tom.Humphreys@swast.nhs.uk